Ask Victoria! 1

Library-Books

What books or author’s have inspired your writing?

Stephen King, Anne Rice, Terry Pratchett, and Ray Bradbury.

What is your favorite book?

Memnoch the Devil, Anne Rice. Also high up on the list: The Gate To Women’s Country by Sherri S Tepper and Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. HOWEVER, I wouldn’t recommend any of these to someone unless I knew that they were students of religious studies or, in case of Gate, feminism.

Victoria’a Postscript…

No idea when I gave that answer. It’s still largely true, but I would like to expound on it.

Stephen King is one of my favorites as much because of style as anything. In my mind, he drew a line between the flowery language of English literature (Diana Gabaldon, Outlander) and straight-forward contemporary Americana. Since he and I are the same age, I saw that as part of the boomer revolution and badly needed reorganization of culture.

One comment

  1. I’ve always enjoyed Anne Rice and early on I read everything I could get my hands on by Stephen King. IMHO I’ve always thought “The Stand” was his best book ever. I have to admit after reading “Pet Cemetery” I haven’t read anything else…. he scared me to death!!

Leave a Reply

