Ask Victoria! Reply

blogprofile

Patricia Smith asks: Are any of your characters in your books reminiscent of anybody in your life?

Not really – although who knows what shadows lurk deep in the subconscious mind of woman?

I do sometimes use real life events. As far as I’m concerned, anything friends and family members do is fair game. Here are a couple of examples.

1.) In My Familiar Stranger, when Elora comes back to the table at Serendipity and finds Ram hamming it up for a bunch of little girls with two long French fries hanging from his nostrils? That was my husband and one of those little girls was ours. Only in real life there was nothing funny about it. I was mortified.

2.) In Gathering Storm, when Elora finds out that Rosie regularly disappears (literally) while Glen is babysitting and says, “That is not okay, Glen!” I stole that phrase from one of my daughters who frequently says to one of her youngsters, “That is NOT okay!”

Leave a Reply

